Showing posts with label watchmen graphic novel. Show all posts
Showing posts with label watchmen graphic novel. Show all posts

Monday, March 09, 2009

Watchmen (Review)

Watchmen

Watchmen (2009)

Directed by Zach Snyder

I've been MIA for a while. My internet has been buggy hence the no posts.

But I did get to watch the Watchmen.

This is going be your a very un-jaded viewer-ish review as I don't really review the big blockbusters but I figure I'd add my 2 cents.

I told people to read the graphic novel since the summer. I've told users to do the same. If you can't find it online for free, buy it.

This is the best graphic novel of all time.

Don't judge the comic by the movie. As a comic book, it loves up to the hype of being the best of the bestest.

It's pure, it's groundbreaking and it's awesome.

The movie is a great adaptation of the graphic novel. The comic is a million times better. So get a copy will ya?

Many people will watch and not understand why the Watchmen is considered the greatest. The tweens and millenials expecting a nocturnal Bat related detective or an indestructable super man, these aren't the droids your looking for.

I actually saw 13 yr old tweens watching this movie!!!!

FUCKIN TWEENS AND MILLENIALS!!!

I hope you got traumatized by the gratuitous gore and the murder of a pregnant Vietnamese girl. I hope that almost rape of Silk Spectre I and Dr. Manhattan's schlong have you scratching out your eyeballs.

This movie, this comic book is NOT FOR YOU!!!

Grow up first and read some Clowes, some Morrison and some Ennis and then watch this. This is for the purists, the comic book geeks, the men and women who appreciate the art.

FUCK YOU G4 and MTV!!

You bastardize the shit out of this like it a pop culture history lesson.

In any case, the tweens and Gen Y-ers won't "get it". You probably hated this movie, got confused or didn't understand what was going on.

You probably said: "Hey they stole that plot from Heroes!" or retorted: "This sucked, Dark Knight was way cooler".

Fuck you.

You didn't read the graphic novel. And that's why it won't make sense.

The Watchmen, to me is the first. It spawned the progeny we see today. It's the beginning of the everything that has come after it.

Here is why. And I won't even explain any of these. You'll get em or you won't.

1.) Watchmen is supposedly the first to take costumed superheroes into an adult, gritty world of realism

2.) Alan Moore is a god in the world of comics

3.) Rorschach is fuckin awesome

4.) The year is 1985. The US and Russia are superpower enemies. Wikipedia it and you'll understand why it's a big fuckin deal.

5.) Courtesy of IMDB, read this:

Watchmen is based on a graphic novel which emulates and satires the history of characters from Charlton Comics company which had been acquired by DC Comics. Many of the modern superheroes people know today, like The Flash or Green Lantern, are actually the second bearers of those names and in the Charlton Comics world there were two Blue Beetles. The first were characters from the "Golden Age of comic books" of the 1930s and 40s, when superheroes first became a growing fad. The trend eventually died away, but was revived in the late 1950s by the introduction of new characters with new costumes and altered powers, bearing the names of their wartime counterparts, thus beginning the "Silver Age," which led to superheroes becoming a permanent part of Americana.

Moore is making a statement about the history of comics in Watchmen. Show some fuckin respect

6.) The tale of the Black Freighter is essential when reading the story of Watchmen as it portrays a metaphoric parallel to the main story

7.) The Ozymandias plan was the first of its kind and has thus been ripped off by other comics, films, TV shows (ahem Heroes) and books

8.) The Comedian is a bad ass mofo

9.) It won a fuckin Hugo award

10.) It's the greatest graphic novel of all time

I should talk about the movie right? I liked it. I think it did the graphic novel justice. I didn't notice what was changed at first, but having slightly reread the comic, I can now see what was changed.

Some shots of the film are out right sick. Panel by panel remake shots are awesome. All the performances were top notch (except Silk Spectre II).

It was bloody, violent, gritty, dirty and fucked up.

Yay.

On in all, I was very satisfied.

The die hards will super duper love it, the tweens will be all confused and the mass public will avoid it.

The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout 'Save us!' And I'll look down, and whisper "No"

-Rorscach

Rating:


Tags:
, , , , , , ,